Jesus of the scars – gedicht – Vroom op Vrijdag

For English scroll down

In mijn christelijke dagboekje stond er gisteren een gedicht genoemd dat indruk op mij maakte. Het ging over de wonden van Jezus, de wonden van God. Daarom dacht ik dat dit wel mooi was om te delen op mijn blog op Goede Vrijdag. Vooral de laatste strofe vind ik erg mooi.

Het gedicht is helemaal indrukwekkend omdat we weten dat de schrijver ook inderdaad ervaring heeft met het zien van veel pijn en wonden. Het gedicht heeft hij namelijk geschreven in de Eerste Wereldoorlog, in een bange en afschuwelijke gravenoorlog van België.

Hier is het gedicht:

Jesus of the scars by Edward Shillito

If we have never sought, we seek Thee now;
Thine eyew burn through the dark, our only scars;
We must have sight of thorn-pricks on Thy brow,
We must have Thee, O Jesus of the scars

The heavens frighten us; they are too calm;
In all the universe we have no place.
Our wounds are hurting us; where is the balm?
Lord Jesus, by Thy Scars we claim Thy grace.

If, when the doors are shut, Thou drawest near,
Only reveal those hands, that side of Thine;
Show us Thy scars, we know the countersign.

The other gods were strong, but Thou wast weak;
They rode, but Thou didst stumble to a throne;
But to our wounds only God’s wounds can speak,
And not a god has wounds, but Thou alone.

This poem stood in my devotional for yesterday. It had impact on me. Especially the last verse. Because it speaks about the wounds of Jesus, the wounds of God, I thought it was a good poem to share on Good Friday.

The poem is extra impressive because the author did know a lot of pain and suffer. He wrote this poem in a trench warfare in Belgium in the First Worldwar.

 

How do you experience Good Friday? / Hoe beleef jij Goede vrijdag?
– Ces

Over Ces

Mijn blog is bedoeld om mijn gedichtjes en verhalen te delen, te spreken over geloof en welke andere onderwerpen ik dan ook maar wil bespreken. Veel leesplezier.
Dit bericht werd geplaatst in geloof, Poëzie en getagged met , , , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

Geef een reactie

